Friday Flash…

If you don’t click any other links today, you MUST check out the collections of Romance Was Born. (If you’re a costume lover like myself, you will LOVE their concept collections)

Psych research proves that money may give you more, but will take away the ability to appreciate life’s little things.

Found a great new blog  – Fashion Intel (I love the photos and great mix of post subjects)

Ever wonder what to do with those left over little bread tags? (Very clever!)

Have we become numb to the true meaning of the word Love? (Very interesting viewpoint – that we use the word “love” too loosely these days…)

Drugs + Social Network Website Comparisons = a very clever illustration.

Runaway turtle! (Awww, cute!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tattoos by Amanda Wachob (This stuns me...these look like abstract paintings and they are goregous!)

Cloud Lamp by DCS-Corp (LOVE this.)

"Bio-Couture" (This is made from bacteria!)

Benedict Redgrove shot these awesome photos for auto manufacturer Bertone (I love the imagery and the car!)

LOVE these board shorts by Vans & No Pattern (I'd buy these for my guy...shoot, I'd buy them for myself!)

Alexander Wang Resort 2011 (This is my favorite pair)

I want this - and don't judge me! :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

30 Days of Truth – Week 3

Day 11 Something people seem to compliment you the most on. People have always complimented me on my eyes. Now, people constantly compliment me on my hair (especially my Caucasian friends, they love my afro!) Oh – and my musical tastes/collection. You have no idea how many times I get asked for a “music swap”.

Day 12 Something you never get compliments on. Hmmm…well everything I’d like to get complimented on I have been at one point or another. I suppose the qualities that I’m working to improve upon don’t get any compliments because I haven’t shown them yet…so those things I want to change will hopefully be complimented on one day (like being more assertive.)

Day 13 A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

Dear Ms. Jackson,

I was 10 years old when your 1997 album, “The Velvet Rope” came out. At that time, I was just a kid who was into Hanson, but only allowed to listen to Christian Music. Of course, I knew who your brother was, but I hadn’t really given any of your music a second listen. Interestingly enough though, little did I know that I was slowly, but steadily falling into an unhealthy mindset that would begin to plague me with insecurities and a low self esteem – 2 themes that I later found out were the catalyst for The Velvet Rope.

Fast forward 4 years later and I was now a middle school adolescent with basically no positive self view. On top of that I was the new kid in a new state and school – none of which helped with the insecurities and feelings of being invisible. Luckily, by this time, I was allowed to listen to whatever I wanted to so as soon as I discovered your music (Thanks to 2001’s “All For You”, I quickly purchased all your other albums…including The Velvet Rope). You have no idea how EVERY SINGLE song was on repeat during my walks across the field to school every morning. You have no idea how it was cathartic to listen to songs that seemed to mirror exactly what I was feeling inside; to know that someone else who was older than me, and obviously more famous than me was struggling with the same toxic feelings that I was. That album showed me that even though I (and many other people all over the world) thought you were awesome, beautiful, and talented, none of that mattered because YOU didn’t think you were beautiful, awesome, and talented. It hit me like a ton of bricks on one winter morning that I was exactly the same way. People complimented me, I had people that loved me and I was slowly starting too realized my talents – but I couldn’t see any of that because when I looked in the mirror, I saw a tall, awkward girl with nothing that made her stand out. I read interviews that you had given back in 1997 and during subsequent years in which you expressed that you were on the road to getting over all that. That you wanted to share the journey in your music to show people that yes, we all want “to feel special”, but that journey starts from within – and only when you’re ready to make it happen.

I want to thank you for making The Velvet Rope. It helped me get through some really tough teenage years. Even now, when I’m dealing with dark feelings, it’s a relief to know that that album is there and that there are others that experience and learn to MEND internal struggles. The album was dark…but it was also just what I needed at that time in my life.

Day 14 A hero that has let you down. (letter) Wow…These are some deep questions, huh?? Anyway, I don’t feel comfortable fully answering this question here on my blog because it involves someone very close to me…and a situation involving me that sort of tore my family up for a little while. What I can express and say is that I was let down by this person’s reaction to me and the occurrence that happened. It showed me that even though someone is blood, they can still let situations change their viewpoint about you – and I certainly wasn’t expecting or even felt like that was warranted from this person.

Day 15 → Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it. Let’s lighten up the mood a bit, huh? I could get deep with this question too, but it’s Friday, so I won’t! I’ve tried living without sweets. I literally tried to not eat candy and dessert foods for like a week – yeah, that didn’t last very long. I’ve come to terms with my insatiable sweet tooth…and it has made me very happy!

Have a Lovely Weekend!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 23, 2010, in Friday Flash. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

