SparkleShock’s Fashion Week Round-up

So as I’m sure you know, Fashion Week came to a close last week in NYC and the celebs and whatnot were out to partake in the festivities. Unfortunately, the time has not yet come for me to have my own tent, so I was reduced to keeping up with all the hoopla from miles away here in MN (which is having its own fashion week this week – go figure). Anyway, the designers offered up tonnes of exciting trends to look forward to for Spring 2010. Here are my favorite trends for this upcoming Spring:

  • Ethnic/Folk Prints
  • Graphic/Abstract Prints
  • Desert Tones (with an emphasis on Reds, Sun Yellows, Blues, and Tans)
  • Blazers (which are still super chic but updated in Spring colors)
  • Puff sleeves
  • Mini Dresses

Some of my favorite collections were:

  • Ralph Lauren – I loved his sort of “Grapes of Wrath”, 1940’s dust bowl era type collection. Blazers, boyfriend jeans, sundresses, pinstripes, and button-up shirt dresses were staples of his collection. RL also had a multitude of adorable floral prints and he’s even trying to bring back overalls! Not sure if I would rock those, but I’m totally down for the pinstripe shirt dresses. [Source]

  • Issac Mizrahi – Mizrahi usually has a really unique style of design and this collection was no exception. Frothy pastels, slinky silks, 40’s-like pants, and sexy bustiers dominated his collection. I’m loving the Yves Saint Laurent-esque blazers as well.Β  I would do the draped skirts and the pleated pants for a fun twist on everyday wear. [Source]

  • Stephen Burrows – Stephen Burrows’s collections are always so sleek and wearable. This collection was just that with his usual colorblock dresses and sexy silhouettes. I really love the strapless bustier dress. Looks like that’s going to be a Spring staple this year… [Source]

  • Argentina – If this collection doesn’t scream WORLD! I don’t know what does! This collection was one of my favorites for its awesome use of bold color, various ethnic influences, and amazing layered maxi dresses. This collection was the most inspiring to me and let me tell you, my sketchpad has a lot of ideas going on now! [Source]

I would post photos of every single Spring 2010 look I was feeling, but that would take up eons of space…and time (yours and mine) so I implore you to check out these other designers that I’m also loving right now –

Threesafour

Proenza Schouler,

Tibi,

Dennis Basso,

Tracy Reese,

Y-3,

Ohne Titel,

Arise: Promise of Africa Collective,

Nicole Miller

Copperwheat,

Monique Lhuillier

What were some of your favorites and what trends will you be rocking this Spring??

See More. [Source]

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Designers on My Radar and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

