Celebrity Designers…Sigh…

Lindsay Lohan for Ungaro

I always look forward to the new season collections because I always find something in them as an inspiration and I always look forward to seeing what new trends I’ll rock and put a bit of a ‘SparkleShock’ spin on. Of course every season has a multitude of inspiration from the Greats (Alexander McQueen, Chanel, Gaultier) and  the newbies (Alexander Wu, Maatano), but it really irks me that every year some collection of mediocrity and boredom will somehow make its way to the great fashion capitals of the world. Case it point – Emanuel Ungaro’s RTW 2010 collection. Now I realize that Ungaro is a well know fashion house and has been quite reputable in the past, but I personally feel that all those accolades should be tossed out the window when you begin to employ someone like Lindsay Lohan as your new ‘artistic director’.

Lindsay Lohan for Ungaro

Lindsay Lohan for Ungaro

That’s right – Lindsay Lohan was the main creative director of the Spring 2010 Ungaro line – and it was painfully obvious that Lohan’s talent does not lie in the world of fashion. I already knew this upon seeing the leggings from Lohan’s 6126 Legging line. I wish I would have known that people would pay $84 for leggings with zippers. I could make those in 30 minutes! Not to mention, the look has been done already, But this post isn’t just aimed at Lindsay so…

Anyone that knows me knows that I have a love hate relationship with the endless array or celebrity ‘designers’ that have dominated the fashion world for the past 10 years. For example, I love Gwen Stafani’s L.A.M.B. line, but I think Miley Cyrus needs to sit down somewhere and leave Wal-Mart alone to mess up fashion by themselves. I think Sean John has great designs for men and Justin Timberlake’s William Rast really knows how to make a man look good, but 50 Cent’s G-Unit collections are ugly and overdone. Clearly some celebrities have a better internal fashion sense and some do not, but I do feel that the ability to dress (or not dress) does not give one the right to call themselves a designer. When I looked the word ‘designer’ up in the dictionary, I found that the definition was :

a person who plans the form, look, or workings of something before its being made or built, typically by drawing it in detail

Leggings from Lohans 6126 line

Leggings from Lohan's 6126 line

Now for arguments sake, I will admit that I’m quite sure that many of these celebrity fashion designers are capable of planning the form and look of a garment, but my issue comes in to play when planning the workings of a garment. I could be wrong, but I think the the chances of any of these celebrity designers knowing how to construct a garment, draft a pattern, or know the properties of fabrics are very low. Not to mention that creating clothing is an ART, not a venture you come upon by chance. First and formost, any artform takes a great deal of natural ability. Not to say that one cannot learn how to paint, draw, sew, or sculpt, but the true artistic geniuses have a natural talent that is honed upon and nurtured. Secondly, an artist takes the time and effort to learn everything they can about their craft – that is what makes a good artist better and a better artist great. Since creating works of art with fabric is my medium, I can quickly and confidently let any one of these celeb designers know that learning the intricacies of creating garments is not something that can be learned over night. Hell, I’m still perfecting my flat patterning techniques, but the difference between myself  (and other designers) and them is that I’m passionate about the craft, not the money (though its nice) and not the fame (though that would be cool).

So to get off my soapbox, I’d like to close by saying that I believe that we’re all graced with special talents – and these celebrities that I have  a bit of beef with are no exception. I will admit that I can’t dance like Justin, I can’t produce beats like Diddy, and I’m not an actress like Lindsay, but you know what? That’s perfectly okay. And while I may dabble in music production, take dance classes, or have a part in a play, I know at the end of the day that in reality, I’m just a visitor to these other artforms. For the sake of the art and for the respect of the art, I would not call myself a dancer, actor, or producer unless I put as much time, education, sweat, tears, and ambition into those arts as I do my own. It would be nice if these celebrity designers would have the same respect for fashion.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on October 6, 2009, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

