Artful Album Covers

When I used to buy CD’s, if I wasn’t familiar with the artist, I would usually select one of their albums based upon the album artwork. I actually once read an article that many consumers do this and its probably because we are visual creatures. It’s no wonder then that much time and thought goes into an album’s cover art.

Album covers have become art themselves because now, people collect vinyls not only for the record, but also for the full sized image of their favorite albums. You can buy picture frames that are specially designed to house vinyl record sized cover art. There is even a screensaver on Macs that uses your iTunes album artwork and displays it as an ever changing grid of faces, colors, and sing titles. I must admit that I stared at my cpu screen for quite a bit once I discovered this setting. So, on that note, here are some of my favorite album covers.

"Bright Like Neon Love" - Cut Copy

I like this one cause it has that 80’s vibe that I dig.

"Character" - Pnuma Trio

I like this one because it reminds me of a BAPE hoodie. And its colorful.

"Dangerous" - Michael Jackson

This album cover was painted by surrealist artist Mark Ryden. I like it cause its one of those paintings that has a lot going on. Plus Michael’s eyes are quite captivating.

"Discovery" - Daft Punk

I’ve always thought mercury was a cool looking element, which is why I really like this cover.

Some more sweet covers…

Of course, this list could go on and on and on…

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on October 26, 2009, in Design-a-licious and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

