Music + Video = Cinematic Art

I love music videos that are more than just the song and an image that goes to it. To me, the best music videos are the ones that are visually stunning, captivating, and extremely creative. Now, this can be achieved in many different ways be it innovative dancing, a great use of art, vivid imagery, or a combination of all three!

Here are some videos I think are art in and of themselves:

MGMT – “Electric Feel”

The best way to watch this video is in the dark with an awesome sound system. Trust me, it truly is electric.

Ok Go – “Here It Goes Again”

Ah yes, the “treadmill video”. But you’ve got to admit that this is very clever. They way they’re all in sync makes it even better.

Rokysopp – “Happy Up Here”

What could be cooler than Space Invaders? Really.

Junior Senior – “Move Your Feet”

Pixel art always brings a smile to my face. So does this video.

Michael Jackson (Feat. Janet Jackson) – “Scream”

The most expensive music video of all time. I think that sums it up enough.

Marina & the Diamonds – “I Am Not a Robot”

Of course I would love this one – its full of jewels and sparkles!

T-Pain (Feat. Lil Wayne) – “Can’t Believe It”

As a disclaimer, I do not like this song. But even I have to admit that T-Pain is on to something with the effects in this one.

Bassment Jaxx (Feat. Lightspeed Champion) – “My Turn”

Love the colors in the one.

Pretty awesome, huh? I’m probably going to do a part 2 of this post. What videos do you think are awesome?

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on November 1, 2009, in Design-a-licious and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. some songs i recognise. the first one was brilliant

Leave a Reply

