Costume Muses

I watched one of my favorite films last night, Titanic, and it never ceases to amaze me as to how beautiful the wardrobe is in that movie. So today, my inspiration comes in the form of three of my favorite costume designers: Colleen Atwood, Sharen Davis, & Deborah L. Scott. I suppose this list could be a bit biased because most of the work these designers have done has been featured in some of my favorite movies…something tells me the costuming has something to do with that!

Colleen Atwood

Colleen Atwood has designed for films including Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Memoirs of a Geisha, Edward Scissorhands, and the upcoming film, Nine. She’s done a number of films with Tim Burton which means that a lot of her best stuff has that over-the-top Gothic feel to it. My favorite costumes are the ones in Memoirs of a Geisha. The wardrobe was exquisitley detailed and extremely accurate. It goes to show that the best costumers are perfectionists as well as historians. Here’s a glimpse at some of my other favorite Colleen Atwood works:

Memoirs of a Geisha (Sayuri)

Chicago

Sweeny Todd (Mrs. Lovett)

Sharen Davis


Sharen Davis designed the costumes to one of my favorite musical films, Dreamgirls. She is one of the few successful designers of color that I know of and I really admire her for her craft. She’s been in the costume and wardrobe department of films for years, but even she admits that Dreamgirls was one of her dream jobs. She has also done the costumes for Seven Pounds, The Nutty Profesor 2, and The Great Debaters.

Dreamgirls

Deborah L. Scott

Deborah L Scott has designed for a number of films including Titanic, Minority Report, Transformers, and Wild Wild West. Again, a number of my favorite movies include her work and I especially love her period films. I will never forget the opening scene of Titanic in which Rose gets out of the carriage, her ensemble caught my eye more than the ship did! These costumes are utterly stunning.

Titanic

All these women are inspirations to me to continue to work my craft so that I can be where they are someday.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on December 3, 2009, in Designers on My Radar, Inspiration of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

