Tokyo Fashion

I came across this really cool website the other day called Tokyofashion.com. I’m a lover of exploring other cultures and Japanese culture is one that I find extremely interesting. I do enjoying learning and reading about the historical aspects of Japanese culture, but I also find modern Japanese culture extremely fascinating. Lucky for me, Japanese fashion and art is at the forefront of worldwide art and fashion, so discovering Tokyofashion.com was an awesome surprise for me.

This website is sort of like the Japanese version of The Sartorialist in the sense that it complies photos of Tokyo street fashion, which is really cool because the sense of individuality on the streets of Tokyo is so varied that its like being in a living art gallery. However, the thing that makes Tokyofashion.com different is that the website also has articles and interviews pertaining to fashion, accessories, and style in Japan. The world of fashion as a whole is extremely fast-moving, but the trends change even more rapidly in Japan, so this website is constantly updated with new photos, articles, and information.

One of my favorite parts of the site is the Fashion Map which provides information for finding all of the fashion districts/streets (Harajuku, Cat Street, Ginza, Shibuya, etc). It also provides information for shopping and the best places to find the best pieces for which ever trend you follow, whether it be Lolita, Gothic, or otherwise. I must keep this in mind when I finally visit Tokyo!

I love this site because its a nice glimpse into fashion that I personally think is more creative than most American street fashion. Don’t get me wrong, we’ve got some awesome style out there as well, but it just seems way more organic in other counties, including Japan. Anyway, check out Tokyofashion.com. It’s an awesome source of inspiration and information.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on December 6, 2009, in Websites on My Radar and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

