Super Amazing Microscopic Photographs

I came across these really amazing images from the 2009 Olympus BioScapes competition. I didn’t even know this existed! Apparently,  Olympus has held this competition for the past 7 years and it is done to honor the best images in life science. I noticed that most of the entrants were doctors, so they’ve probably seen some really neat things under the microscope.  I don’t have any idea what half of the following images are, but they are certainly beautiful…

As I think about it, it’s almost like this intrinsic link between art, life, and beauty. At the very cell level of living organisms, there is this breathtaking beauty…I always enjoyed using the microscope back in school for this very reason. Perhaps the reason why is more philisophical than aesthetic – that at the heart of everything is true beauty…

Anyway, check out more of my favorite winners from the competition. I linked to the website at the beginning of the post if you’d like to see more.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on December 31, 2009, in Design-a-licious and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

