I’m Excited! The Music Edition

One of the best parts of the new year is the anticipation of newness whether that be in the world of entertainment, art, and of course one’s own life. I figured I’d share some of the SparkleShock-esque things I’m looking forward to this year, starting with one of my favorite subjects – music! This list is in no particular order, except they’re all artists you should check out!

Goldfrapp – Head First

This band prompted me to write this post since I’m listening to their last album, Seventh Tree, as I type this. I discovered Goldfrapp about 3 years ago and I was instantly hooked by their awesome fusion of electronica and downtempo. Plus, the lyrics are trip inducing with their dreamy mix of sexy, fun thoughtfulness. I’ve read that Head First will be far more on the electronic side (unlike Seventh Tree which was borderline folk), which is totally fine with me. The band says it’s their “most powerful trip to date, a speedy rush of synth optimism, euphoria, fantasy and romance. With life affirming lyrics and stellar production it lifts off at full tilt and takes us on a journey to the heart of 2010.” I am so ready for this journey to begin!

Jaga Jazzist – One-Armed Bandit

Jaga Jazzist is awesome because the music this Norweigan band creates is so all over the spectrum, you never know what you may find yourself listening to. I also love that they use a lot of live instruments in their songs. I haven’t heard anything from One-Armed Bandit (which was released last week), but I can’t wait to check it out!

Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea

I love Corinne’s voice. She’s jazzy, but delicate at the same time. Plus she writes some really sweet love songs. I’m hoping that this album is an uplifting one, seeing as that her husband was shot and killed last year. Regardless, it will probably be intensely personal and intimate.

Sade – Soldier of Love

I really have only one thing to say about this one…well, two: Sade hasn’t released an album in about a decade. I LOVE Sade. Great work oftentimes takes time, so this album will probably be amazing. That right there is enough for me!

Gorillaz – Plastic Beach

I have throughly enjoyed every Gorillaz album that has been released. Most of them feature great production and the video are always fun. I’m most looking forward to Plastic Beach though because it appears to be a concept album in the sense that it has themes from when one of the producers went to Mali. It also has some pretty awesome guest performers including Bobby Womack, Mos Def, De La Soul, and the Lebanese National Orchestra for Oriental Arabic Music. Musical modgepodge? Sign me up!

Some more…

Ok Go – Of the Blue Colour of the Sky

Hot Chip – One Life Stand

Massive Attack – Heligoland

Tupac – Shakurspeare

Fefe Dobson – Joy

MGMT – Congratulations

Toni Braxton – Pulse

Usher – Raymond vs. Raymond

I’m also looking out for albums by…

Crystal Castles,  N.E.R.D., No Doubt, Janet Jackson, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Daft Punk, and Flying Lotus

I highly doubt next years’ Grammy’s will reflect this, but I think this year will be a pretty good year in music!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on February 2, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

