The Life of Ms. Sheree (2.8.10)

Hello SparklesShockers! Hope this Monday is starting off well for you. It’s snowy up here in the Land of 10,000 Lakes, so I’m a bit annoyed by that (give me sunshine any day!), but other than that, everything is starting off fine. This weekend proved to be quite busy for me. I was building costumes all day on Sunday for Burial at Thebes which opens on Friday! I spent 9am – 9pm in the costume shop and I still have things to finalize, but for the most part, everything’s completed. It was fun for me to come up with the color palette for the wardrobe because the set is this gorgeous meld of rusty reds, golds, and browns. The set designer and I decided on this ancient look with a modern flair…so I used lots of Rust Red, Burnt Sienna, Taupe, and Gold in my color palette:

 

If you read Antigone in highschool, then you know that there were basically a versus mentality between the young (Antigone, Haemon) and the old (Creon, Chorus), so to distinguish between the two, I used lots of Linen and Cotton for the young order and Twill for the older order.  I basically tried to convey the two differnt mindsets by using loose silhouettes for the wise (young) and structured silhouettes for the unwise (old). Hopefully I can post photos soon.

Besides that I had a very random assignment thrown at me from a local director to design a lioness costume for the music video for a local band. Turns out I ended up being in this music video as well (they needed more extras), so it was a good thing that I wore something I designed! It was fun though and I thought it was so cool to hear somebody yell “roll playback!”

This week will consist of me running around like a madwoman tying up the loose ends of the play. I also have my Japanese lessons on Tuesday so that’s something to look forward to. I love my craft, but I cannot wait until this weekend when I can actually sleep for longer than 5 hours! I’m a bit bummed that I didn’t get to watch the Superbowl, but I heard the Saints won so it’s all good. I do hear the Halftime show was boring as hell though…

Enjoy your week and make everyday count!

“When I’m not doing something that comes deeply from me, I get bored. When I get bored I get distracted and when I get distracted, I become depressed. It’s a natural resistance, and it insures your integrity.” – Maria Irene Fornes

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

