Designer of the Day…Tina Kalivas

I am extremely excited about today’s designer Tina Kalivas because she is another designer that has an amazing gift for creating awesome concept collections. I am a bit biased since this is my personal design aesthetic, so perhaps that should be taken into consideration, but anyone that can create entire collections inspired by such things as outer space, Aztec and African geometric art, and Rubik’s Cubes is automatically amazing in my book.

Kalivas is from Wales and has worked with such greats as Alexander McQueen and Russell Sage. I was also really stoked to find out that she’s done costume design for film as well!

I love every bit of her work and her design aesthetic is so similiar to mine…it’s so awesome to know there’s another designer out there who loves to mix fashion and costume to create other worldly pieces! You can read an interview with Kalivas here…great, great work!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on March 30, 2010, in Designers on My Radar and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

