Designer of the Day…Chichia London

Every few years there’s an entire year of fashion that I cannot stand. I think it was maybe two years ago (both autumn/winter & spring/summer) that had absolutely nothing that tickled my fancy…I believe it was when the whole distressed look was all over the place. Anyway, the spring/summer ’10 fashion season is NOT that way at all for me. Thanks to the abundance of the ethnic prints, vibrant colors, and flowy silhouettes, I am totally enjoying wearing and making dresses, skirts, and tops. I am also enjoying today’s designer Chichia London because the collection of tops and dresses combines everything I’m loving about this season. This collection is the brainchild of London based designer Christine Mhando. She utilizes Khanga – an East African fabric – to create her ultra feminine and unique looks.

Mhando launched Chichia in 2007 and hasn’t looked back. This Tanzania native has been educated in apparel design at Kent University and The London College of Fashion. With collections entitled “Succulent” and “Understated Regal”, Mhando’s Chichia London is so inspiring!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Gorgeous clothes! Simply stunning!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on April 22, 2010, in Designers on My Radar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

