Sparkle, Style, and Substance at the 2010 Met Costume Institute Gala

Last night was the night to be at the Met…why you ask? Because last night was the night of the annual Costume Institute Gala and the stars came out in droves for the current exhibition which is the “American Woman: Fashioning a National Identity”. The exhibit pays homage and looks at the historical impact the American fashion designer has had on the look of the “American” woman. The exhibit sounds very interesting, but what I love about the gala is all the amazing looks that abound!

Here are my absolute favorites…along with the stunning ladies wearing them…

Nicole Richie in Marc Jacobs

J.Lo in Zuhair Murad

Chanel Iman in Michael Kors

Ms. Jackson in Lanvin

Blake Lively in Marchesa

Eva Mendes in Dolce & Gabbana

Camilla Belle in Jason Wu

Sarah Jessica Parker in Halston Heritage

These 8 looks were definitely the most stunning to me. I loved the color of Blake Lively’s dress and I thought the princess-ness of Jennifer Lopez’s was great fun. I also loved the creams, golds, and nudes in her dress as well. My two favorite looks hands down had to be that awesome metallic jumpsuit of Chanel Iman’s and that fierce one-armed dress of Janet’s. Both ladies brought the right amount of edge and classiness and that Lanvin dress is so totally Ms. Jackson! I’m not usually a fan of Michael Kors (he usually bores me), but that jumpsuit is just stunning! I also loved Nicole Richie’s sparkly gown. The empire waist gave that perfect touch of vintage without being too much.

I give the award for best looking couch fabric to Eva Mendes…and I actually mean that in a good way! Normally, bold, big roses scream SOFA! to me, but this mermaid dress came out totally beautiful and classic. I loved it as well. Finally, I have to give Camilla Belle and SJP an enthusiatic 2 thumbs up on their gowns of choice. That red is stunning with Camilla’s dark hair and I think the silhouette of the gown is fabulous. SJP’s dress is fun and not as dressy to me, but still formal because of the great sheer, sparkle fabric that was used. I also love the volume of the bodice…I would own every single one of these dresses!

If you’d like to see the other looks from the fun night you can go here and here…I would have loved to go to this gala…one of these here days, I’ll be in one of these photo galleries!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on May 4, 2010, in Design-a-licious and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

