The Life of Ms. Sheree (5.10.10)

Good morning, all! It’s Monday…the second week in May and I write to you from a cold and dreary Minneapolis…it really rains on my parade (literally) when I look outside and it looks like November…and somewhat feels like it too! The high today is supposed to be 50…yuck! Oh well, it may be May, but it is the Midwest…so cold weather is never far away.

Despite the weather though, I must say I’m in pretty good spirits. I’ve finally begun to decorate my cube at work, so it’s starting to feel a bit homier. A part of me feels like it makes no sense at all to do this since I’ll be moving in about 15 weeks, but that still is a while so I suppose it’s warranted. I have these really nice picture frames that my friend up in housewares brought down for me and she gave me this cute lamp…totally me since it’s stainless steel, has clean lines, and screams “minimalist style”. It’s a amazing how much  better my workspace feels now that I have something other than fluorescent lights to focus my eyes on!

Anyway, enough about work…how was your weekend? Mine was pretty great! Of course yesterday was Mother’s Day…and I tried to find a photo of me and my mama, but I couldn’t find any of our old photo albums! So I didn’t get to post a “Happy Mother’s Day”, but I will share that my sister and I made mom some breakfast in bed, and I made her some really cute PJ boxers out of this awesome tattoo inspired print that says “I Love Mom”…kind of like this…she loved them by the way.

The rest of my weekend was spent costuming and doing laundry. On Saturday night, Legacy had a preview performance at this theater downtown that houses Balls Cabaret. That was a lot of fun…not only did the crew do awesome, we also did a lot of networking and enjoyed some great open mic night acts. I love going to those kinds of shows. I purchased the last of the materials for “Remember the Time”, I finished the men’s costumes for “Thriller”, and I began on one of the women’s dresses for “Thriller”. I ordered this great PVC fabric to makes some kickass latex-looking leggings for “Scream“, so those should be arriving sometime this week. The show is less than 4 weeks away, so I’m in beast mode right now. Like hardcore. Luckily, the bit of help that I do have is turning out to be extremely helpful…it’s amazing how nice it is to have a cutter…all I have to do is grab the fabric and sew!

I’m starting to feel a bit overwhelmed though…there’s a lot going on with the show and at work, so while I revel in being extremely busy, it also causes tons of stress…but that’s what I thrive in – chaos, so it is what it is! I hope you all have a great week…enjoy the sun if wherever you are has it!

“One, who takes lessons from his past and improves on himself need not fear the future. ” -Atharva Veda

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on May 10, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

