[“Light Out”]…Why I Love Santigold & VV Brown

I tend to play music based upon things like the weather and my mood and since the weather has been amazing here in Mpls, I’ve had my iPod on my “Kitsch” playlist which consits of artists like The Ting Tings, M.I.A., Passion Pit, Jamiroquai, Marina & the Diamonds…and two of my current faves – Santigold & VV Brown.

If you don’t know by now, my taste in music is pretty eclectic, so I love discovering artists that are unique and talented – and VV and Santigold definitely are. I’m so digging both their styles of  music, VV Brown because she’s got a great blend of retro pop and Santigold because her indie punk sound is super infectious. Plus, I love the fact that these are two Black women that are making music in genre’s “not expected” of them. They both seem really creative and unique and I like that becuase they’re way more easy to relate to (for me anyway) than someone like Rihanna.

VV Brown

VV Brown is from the UK and has been a rising star as of late due to her song writing skills and catchy tunes. You’ve probably heard one of her songs on Desperate Housewives or CSI:NY. She sort of reminds me of Janelle Monae (whom I also love).

Santigold

Santigold is from right here in The States and I discovered her after hearing her song “Lights Out” in a Budweiser commercial. I instantly was hooked and I’ve had her 2008 self-titled album in heavy rotation ever since. She fromted a rock band (Stiffed) in the mid 00’s whose music I also enjoy.

I wanted to share these two artists with you guys so that you could discover them (if you haven’t already) or just agree with me about how are awesome they are (if you have discovered them), LOL. Serously though, if you can appreciate all types of music, check them out!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on May 26, 2010, in Inspiration of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

