The Life of Ms. Sheree (6.7.10)

Happy Monday everybody! I’m writing to you without the usual Monday malaise that usually comes with it being the beginning of the work week. It’s probably because I’m still coming off the high from this past weekend’s performances of “Legacy”. When I tell you guys we were amazing, I mean we were a-maz-ing! The crowds were great, involved, and had nothing but rave reviews. It was so nice to see people that appreciate the artistry of Michael Jackson come out and support a group of young people that basically put this entire thing together from scratch. You know, being a part of this production made me realize why I do what I do. Being able to costume productions that mean something to people allows me the outlet to help people in my own way. Just knowing that people could come to see a show (or one day, a movie!) that I’ve costumed and walk away feeling inspired or happy is what makes the hours of sewing, shopping, and frustrations worth it. Plus, I was able to work with a really great group of people and we got along well – which I think really showed through in how solid everybody’s performance was. It was just a really great experience and I super glad I was able to be a part of it. Look out for photos from the event soon!

So…how was your weekend? I do hope it was nice! Obviously mine consisted of me living at the theater, but I did manage to get my hair done on Friday afternoon. It’s always so nice to go see my hairstylist (who’s been doing my hair since middle school), but since I went natural, I haven’t had the need to go to the salon every 6 weeks like I used to when I was relaxed. This time though, I was in dire need of a trim (the naps at the ends of my locks were not being nice at all!), so I got that done and I got my high lights re done. Originally, I wanted a caramel brown color, but that went awry…so I ended up with a caramel color that was a bit brighter than I wanted, but not too bad. There are also the subtle red highlights mixed in as well…it isn’t what I wanted at first, but they turned out really neat anyway. Just so long as it isn’t blonde, I’m good!

The rest of my week will consist of me cleaning and fixing some things I’ve been neglecting for the past month due to the show. I need to do laundry and clean the house. I’ve recently added tons of new music to my collection, but it is SO not organized to my liking (I am so anal about my music collection, it’s not even funny) so I’ll be working on weeding out the albums/songs I don’t really care too much for and updating my playlists. To most people this sound like a chore, but it’s fun for me haha! Besides that, I’ll be making calls and preparations for my move (In two months – eek!). My hunt for apartments/roommates is picking up, so I have a lot to think about…not to mention the strenuous job hunt that’s looming in my future…

I hope you all have a great week…I’ve got my mojo back, so  look out for some neat stuff this week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

F – Favorite color: Oh man…vibrant shades of green and blue (teal, emerald)…but I love most colors (except pink…that’s my least favorite)

G – Gold or Silver or Platinum: When I’m rolling in my Impala it’s all about the platinum, baby…naw, not really, but I do like platinum out of all these 3.

H – Height: 5’8”

I – Instruments you play: Sadly, that is the one part of artistic expression I haven’t worked on. I would love to learn how to play the harp or guitar though.

J – Jewelry you wear everyday: My class ring (which I don’t even know why I do..I never had any school spirit.) and a pair of earrings from my unnecessarily large collection.

Intimacy is being seen and known as the person you truly are. -Amy Bloom
About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

