The Life of Ms. Sheree (6.21.10)

Hello! It’s the first day of summer! Although you couldn’t tell that here in MN, seeing as though it’s cloudy this morning…ah well, yesterday was gorgeous, so I’m assuming we’ll get some sunshine in here sometime this week. I hope wherever you are, it’s sunny, warm, and oh-so-summer-y!

Anyhoo, I do hope your weekend was enjoyable. Did you do anything fun? Exciting? Different? I’m hoping someone out there did, because I certainly didn’t…which I’m totally fine with since I got to spend the weekend sewing and spending time with cool people. Friday night was pretty much a chill night…I watched a few movies, enjoyed a couple glasses of wine…relaxed, ya know? I spent all day Saturday at the fabric store…it wasn’t that busy, which I enjoyed cause it meant that I could keep “putting fabric away” – in other words, shop. I did good though, I only managed to spend $20 and with that I got a new pair of amazing scissors, 2 yards of a really cute knit, about a yard of a gold-flecked denim, and some other bits of embellishment stuff. I’m thinking that the denim is going to made into a neat pair of shorts…with an extended waistband and sash. I’ve been really into playing with volume lately, so I’m really excited to try them out. Speaking of sewing, I did manage to crank out a skirt and 2 rompers this weekend! I’m so, so excited to wear the rompers (which my pattern actually called a “playsuit” – my sister thought that was sort of skanky sounding…) because I’ve been noticing that they are perfect for the summertime. I made one out of a Missoni-like tan/rust/orange fabric and I made the other out of a cream & white stripe. They came out super cute and I shall post photos sometime this week (hopefully!). Now all I need to do is find a brown belt and a red belt to wear with each cause that would make them even more awesome! I also got to make my pops a couple pairs of boxers for Father’s day…although he’s out of state on work. He’ll be back on Thursday, so I’ll give them to him then!

You know what else is awesome?? Trueblood. Which I was actually able to watch last night with some good friends of mine. Interestingly enough, these friends are all guys…guys that can cook really well because I arrived to their house and was greeted by a Bloody Mary (see the connection?) and margherita pizzas…all homemade! The Bloody Mary’s had all the fixings from pickled mushrooms to horseradish…and let me tell you, they were good! This was my first time having one and though mine wasn’t as spicy as some of the guys’ it was delicious! I didn’t know they were such robust drinks…definitely adding them to my list of favorite “adult” beverages though. Anyway, back to Trueblood – this episode was much better than the season premier. I won’t give a away any spoilers, but there have been a few interesting new characters so I’m quite excited to see how things turn out. Another one of my shows – The Tudors, also had a good episode last nite…even though it was the series finale! I hate when shows go off the air because it’s almost like something that leaving that you’ll never get back…although thanks to DVD, I guess that’s not really the case. Regardless though, it’s sort of sad to know they’ll be no more new episodes – The Tudors ended well though so once I go back and watch seasons 1 & 2 (I started watching during season 3), I think I’ll finally be at peace with the show ending, haha.

I don’t have much planned for this week…a little sewing here…a lot of job hunting in CA there. I may go out and celebrate a friend’s birthday this evening…although she wants to go to the club…not sure how that’ll work out with me having to get up at 6:30am and all 🙂 Enjoy your week and take care!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P – Pet Peeve: Having to repeat myself…that and unsavory odors.

Q – Quote: “Everyone has their oceans to fly…if fthey have the heart to do it. Is it reckless? Maybe. But what do dreams know of boundaries?” – Amelia Earhart

R – Right handed or left handed: Right

S – Siblings: The younger sis, Ash. Love her to pieces.

T – Time you wake up: Oh far too early…6:30am 

“I have found that if you love life, life will love you back.” – Arthur Rubinstein
About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on June 21, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

