The Life of Ms. Sheree (6.28.10)

Hey there!!!! Another week is beginning as another weekend ends…I wish weekends never ended…but then I suppose that would be called retirement, hmmm? Anyway, how was your weekend? I do hope it was enjoyable. The worse thing is to be looking forward to the weekend and then have it turn out to be a bad one. Luckily, I escaped that bit of misfortune…my weekend was quite nice! Even though the weather was horrible. How horrible you ask? Well, for starters, tornado warnings were in effect across much of MN…none of them were in my area, but the siren did go off a few times which is also unnerving. On top of that, it hailed 1/2 thick pieces of ice that basically sounded like a million bb gun pellets being shot at your window. The storms in MN have been some of the worse I’ve ever seen. Perhaps it has something to do with all the open fields and stuff…

Anyway, I had to wait for all of that to die down before I could head out to the Legacy cast party on Friday. Of course, it was a good time filled with laughter, random dance sessions, and freely flowing liquor, haha. I had my iPod on deck and I attempted to annoy people with my love of 80’s music, but surprisingly, people started asking me who was playing and where can they get it!

(*COMPLETE SIDE-NOTE*) So I’m currently typing this on my phone…on the bus…and I just looked out the window to see that we are somehow nowhere on the usual route…I have no idea if there is some sort of detour up by the usual exit…all I know is that I’m very confused at the moment…

So after the party on Friday nite, the rest of my weekend was pretty chill. I worked Saturday morning…a customer complimented me on my helping her so that was nice. The best part about Saturday, though, was that my mom and I headed out to the fairgrounds to check out a vintage clothing and textile show and sale. I was totally in heaven…

I saw some of the most gorgeous pieces of jewelry, clothing, and textiles. I suppose vintage clothing is where I turn into a history buff…it’s so amazing to think about the lives that were lived in the clothes…it’s living history! Anyway, I was completely overwhelmed by everything I saw, and I wanted to buy everything (including those square sunglasses above…I died when I saw them!) I managed to pull myself together and settle on a few things…

Now, I had gone to the show with the intention of looking and NOT touching, clearly that did not work out well because I managed to spend more than I had planned…but i stayed with a budget so I suppose it’s all good. The reason I didn’t get the sunglasses was because I had already purchased that gorgeous bracelet above…and the lovely lady who sold it was nice enough to give me a deal on it. The buttons were selected after about 45 minutes of going through bins and bins of vintage buttons…and I was quite pleased to find the amber colored ones above. They’re made of Bakelite, which I’ve been wanting to start collecting for ages. To give you an idea of how coveted Bakelite accessories and jewelry are, I can tell you that every vendor I went to at the show had gorgeous Bakelite bangles – none of which were under $90 bucks. It may sound ridiculous, but the weight and craftsmanship of Bakelite jewelry is like none found today. They are more than likely from the 1930’s and there are some really amazing pieces out there.
I’m not sure what those buttons are going to become, but I’m extremely excited to see what my mind and sewing machine come up with….stay tuned!

The remainder of my weekend was spent just relaxing and doing a bit of sewing. Sunday was True Blood day with the guys and last nite’s episode did not disappoint. The show is finally setting it up for Sookie and Eric to start to become involved, so I’m excited about that. I will say though that the ending scene of the episode was a bit disturbing…vampires, anger, and twisted necks makes for an interesting sex scene – if you watch the show, then you know what I’m talking about…if you don’t, well, let’s just say that scene wasn’t for the squemish!

Well, I’m off to dod a little bit of work…and a lot of daydreaming. I’ve got a pretty chill week ahead of me. I plan on sewing some things both for myself and for my upcoming photoshoot. I think my sister and I are going to watch Avatar tonight (and yes, I’m probably the last person on the planet that hasn’t seen it yet..)

Have a fantastic week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

U- Underwear: Either boyshorts or bikini briefs. And they are only from Victoria’s Secret…I refuse to buy undies form anywhere else!

V – Vegetable you dislike: Peas…yuk!

W – Ways you run late: procrastinating or getting up late…rushing gives me an adrenaline boost that I enjoy, so perhaps sometimes I make myself late on purpose.

X – X-rays you’ve had: just teeth

Y – Yummy food you make: pancakes. My chili is pretty bomb as well.

Z – Zoo favorite: I’ve recently decided that I have a problem with the idea of zoos…however when I did enjoy going to them, I liked the exotic bird and reptile sections.

It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not. – Andre Gide (1869 – 1951)

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on June 28, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

