The Life of Ms. Sheree (7.5.10)

It’s a bit strange for me to be writing a Monday post so late! It’s about 10pm and I’m just now getting around to posting a few things. Why you ask? Because I had the day off and it was SO enjoyable! Working in “the real world”, it’s taken a bit for me to get used to not having a lot of time off (completely different from the part time jobs I had in the past), so whenever I get a day off (that’s paid too!) I take full advantage of it. So I spent all of today sewing…and it was so nice. I was able to make one of the looks I’ll be wearing for my upcoming photoshoot and I was also able to take care of some alterations and such for other people. On top of that I made two tops (both vintage) and I started the 2nd painting in a set of paintings that I’ve been working on. It sounds like I’m a busy bee, but trust me, I really only do this on the weekends because I feel way to lazy during the week to do anything 🙂

Anyway, I hope your weekend and beginning of the week was good. The majority of my weekend consisted of me chilling and…well, chilling , haha. Of course I worked at the fabric store on Saturday and then on Saturday nite I went to support a friend at a fashion show she was modeling in…and what an interesting experience that was! The clothes that were modeled were really cute and my homegirl did really well, but some of the other models (and I use that term loosely) were a bit, well awkward. I realize that it wasn’t anything professional by any means, but I do think they could have looked a bit more happy to be at the event. There were also live musicians at the show as well and I really enjoyed this one local jazz/r&b artist Timotha Lanae (whom I just found out was a Hollywood finalist on American Idol 6). She did this crazy rendition of Estelle’s “American Boy” and it was amazing. All in all, I must say that it was nice to have something to do on a Saturday nite.

The rest of the week will be the usual…I go back to work tomorrow (yuck!), so it’ll be back to the grind. I’ll try and keep this  sewing binge up for the rest of the week so that I can crank out more lovely things…which I promise I’ll have photos of soon. My cat chewed through my camera charging cord, so my camera is out of commission until I order a new one. Oh! you’ve probably noticed the new look on here…I went a little photoshop crazy and these are the results…I like them I think 🙂

Have a good week, all!

“Opportunities are usually disguised as hard work, so most people don’t recognize  them.”-Ann Landers


About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 5, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

