[Back To the Future]…Alt/1977 by Alex Varanese

If you’re anything of a nerd like me, then you probably get really excited about retro electronics. That’s why I love this set of illustrations by Alex Varanese called alt/1977. They feature a re-imagining of today’s top tech items (like iPod’s, cell phones, etc) as they would be if it were 1977…

Aren’t those neat!? I really like the “Laptron 64″…actually I think it would be really cool if you could actually get a cell phone or laptop that looks retro like this (with all the inside gadgetry of 2010, of course). I also noticed that the Microcade 3000, looks an awful lot like a Game Boy advance…I wonder why Varanese choose that handheld game device as inspiration. The colors are really cool too…I have a thing for 70’s wood paneling, haha

…make sure to check out the rest of the set here.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 6, 2010, in Design-a-licious and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

