The Life of Ms. Sheree (7.12.10)

Monday’s are not my favorite day of the week…especially when it’s a Monday that’s cloudy…and when it’s the beginning of the work week…and when it’s a week in which “casual dress” is no longer allowed (I do love to dress up, but I like my dress down wardrobe a bit more). Anyway, enough about complaining about my job…it is what it is and I just have to remember that even though I loathe it, it’s getting me the money so I’ll be able to get to where I want to be.

So I hope you’re weekend was good. Mine was quite nice, yet low-key. Not much went on this weekend…in fact I don’t really remember what I did on Friday night…and I know I didn’t do much on Saturday night either. I did go to a going away party for a friend on Sunday nite and it was fun. My buddy Drew is moving to Florida, so he had a whole bunch of people come over to chill and wish him a bon voyage. Actually, Drew is the guy I’m collaborating with on the photo shoot I have coming up this weekend…I’m pretty excited…his work is great. I’ll be all by myself for the next 3 weeks – all my family is in FL for the rest of the month…and I wasn’t able to go because of work…oh how I miss the days of summer vacation, haha!

Besides that, I didn’t really do any sewing…I wasn’t really in the mood creatively to crank anything out…you see, for the past few days, I’ve been sort of bogged down with some thoughts about my upcoming move to Los Angeles. As a background, I absolutely did not want to come back home after I graduated from college. It was a pride thing and to me a practical thing – you get a diploma and you move out on your own. However, I also was smart enough to know that I just can’t go somewhere without much of a savings or a job. So I moved back home and decided that I would apply for jobs out in CA and work here until I saved money. Little did I know that the economy would continue to suck and that people don’t really seem to want to hire out of state – especially in the world of styling, fashion, costume, entertainment, etc. So I reluctantly applied to my current job (which I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned by name since I don’t really have anything favorable to say about it, but let’s just say that I work in the city for a company I guarantee you’ve heard of). Anyway, it turns out I get hired and although it’s boring as hell…and has NOTHING to do with my diploma or career goals, I will admit that it has been paying me well – well enough that I’ve saved over 10 grand. This was back in October and fast forward to now, it’s almost the end of the summer and August which is when I have decided to pack all my stuff up and move out to California – only now, I’m having second thoughts. It mostly has to do with the fact that if I go at the end of the summer as planned, I’ll have no help and I’ll have less money than if I decided to stay and move in December – which I’m considering. A large part of me feels like it would mean so much more if I did do this all by myself and with a smaller cushion of money than would be ideal. I can make it work, but of course it never hurts to have more money in the bank. On the flip side, it would be nice to be able to have my mom or a few of my friends accompany me on the move (which no one can do at the end of Aug.) and it would be great to have the extra 6,000-7,000 I would have if I decided to stay here until the end of the year. I suppose my dilemma is do I stay here and suffer under another 85 more days of this job, continue living at home for another 4 months, and suffer through another Northern winter…or do I suck it up and move in Aug by myself and with a smaller cushion. Mentally and emotionally, I think it would be worse for me to stay because I can’t be myself at work (the corporate environment is not conducive to my personality and way of social interaction AT ALL) and it’s hurtful to my pride to be living at home when I may not need to be doing that. In CA, I would be on my own which would be a confidence booster and I would be able to start networking and such to turn my costuming goals into a career. But in practical terms, it would be best to stay here, save more money, and wait until I can get some assistance. Not to mention, I do have some expenses (getting my car serviced, buying a new pair of glasses, etc) that are necessary at this time – and it would be best if I paid for them in the next few months instead of putting them on my credit card which I was originally planning on doing…

Sorry that was so long. I guess I haven’t really had to make a decision yet that requires me to do what’s best over what I want to do. I always have done  what I FEEL like doing rather than what may actually be the right/best/easiest thing to do. I think things would work well if I left in August…but they would work better if I left in December. What do you guys think? I’d really appreciate any insight and thoughts you may have 🙂

Anyway, have a great week. Make sure you take the time to do something that you enjoy!

“Success in any endeavor requires single-minded attention to detail and total concentration.”-Willie Sutton

OH YES…so I finally decided to give this twitter thing a try…I’m going to see if it starts to make any sense to me at all, so even though I don’t really have any outgoing tweets at the moment, please follow me @MissPheenix…I’d love to have a more forward way to connect with all my readers 🙂

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 12, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

