Artist of the Day…Iain MacArthur

Sorry about the lack of posts yesterday…I honestly just didn’t feel like blogging…lots of stuff on the old noggin’…anyway, I’m back and in full effect today, so let’s jump to it, shall we??

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anyway…I’m super thrilled about today’s artist, illustrator Iain MacArthur. MacArthur’s awesome drawings are done using pigment pens, watercolor, and pencils and are super detailed and expressive.

MacArthur was influenced by cartoons and comic book art and began drawing as a kid utilizing the looks of those media. He progressed towards Anime style illustration and from there mover to his hyper-stylized depictions of people and faces. He’s held exhibitions around London and has also been commissioned for work by Nike, MTV, and Ardentees.

To me, MacArthur’s works are a great fusion of street art, comic art, and what I call “detalia” (illustrations that have a immense amount of intricate patternwork details). I LOVE his style and I would really like to a tee or print of the peacock drawing above. Be sure to check out his portfolio, Behance site, or blog…he’s great!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 15, 2010, in Artists on My Radar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

