Loving…Alexander McQueen 2011 Collections

After the shocking death of one of fashion’s great visionaries, many were wondering what was in the future for the Alexander McQueen label…well, now we get to see. After McQueen’s right hand woman, Sarah Burton, took over the line there was concern about whether or not the iconic pomp, pizzaz, and drama that comes with McQueen’s collections would be evident. After checking out the Resort 2011 and menswear Spring 2011 collections, I think it’s safe to say that if anything, Burton is at least going in the right direction…

Resort 2011

Menswear Spring 2011

Overall, I really do like the looks of the Resort collection. They’re unique and bold, but a bit more wearable than a McQueen collection would normally be. Many of the looks remind me of Padme’s wardrobe in the Star Wars Episode I film (In fact, I feel like I’ve said this about a McQueen collection before…). I’m not extremely impressed with the Menswear looks, but I do like the 4 above the most…and I like the nods to Edwardian styles. I think Sarah Burton is on the right track, though. These looks are eye-catching and interesting – 2 qualities I think every collection with McQueen’s name should have 🙂

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 15, 2010, in Loving... and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

