The Life of Ms. Sheree (7.19.10)

Goooood Morning! How was your weekend? Fantastic I hope…It’s another Monday morning and although I really don’t want to be at work (like that’s anything new :)), I’m in pretty good spirits.

I had a fabulous weekend…one that is the epitome of what I’d like most of my weekends to be – one filled with creativity and hustle & bustle. I mentioned I was to begin my photoshoot on Friday afternoon – and it was AMAZING! It was really fun and honestly, it was a bit of an ego trip since I was the one doing the modeling. Back in middle/high school, I was on this modeling tip (when I wanted my folks to uproot and move to LA so that I could be on the Disney Channel), but a lot of my photos came out really awkward…I think the fact that I was going through some serious confidence issues at the time was reflected in that, so I gave that up and haven’t really given modeling another thought. Fast forward about 7 years and I now find myself back in front of the lens. For awhile, I was looking for photographers because I did want some new “professional” photos of myself, but I wasn’t sure what kind I wanted…then the idea came to be that I did need some photos of some of my favorite pieces (that I’ve designed/sewn) so I decided to combine the two and plan a photoshoot of some updated photos of myself and of the clothes I make. Long story short, I collaborated with a good friend of mine, and together we came up with some great stuff that’s edgy, sexy, natural, and all me at the same time. I think what I enjoyed the most about the whole thing was that we just vibed really well creatively. I like to think as a creative partner as a sort of lover. As with any relationship, things just wont work well if you don’t connect – and being a designer there have been many instances where I haven’t connected well creatively with others. But this time, it was just…magic! We found some great locations and I think that plus the awesome pieces I designed just made me really comfortable and natural in front of the camera. On top of that, Drew (photographer) was able to ask a good friend of his if she could do my make up…so I had a make up artist as well. Make up and hair is NOT one of my strong points…I mean, I style my own very well, but I tend to get lost when it comes to designing the right looks for shows and shoots. She came up with some great ideas that really fit the looks well…and I LOVED the make-up for my 3 look. All in all, the whole thing was a great experience and while I don’t plan on pursuing modeling serious in any capacity, it’s nice to know that maybe I don’t take such bad pictures after all 🙂 We pick up the photos today (they were film, not digital) so I’m a bit anxious…everyone will see them before me…and I always get really shy when I see photos or video footage of myself…I hate watching it, haha. But, I am still really excited to see how they came out…the entire shoot felt right, so hopefully they end up looking right.

The shoot basically consumed my entire weekend. I felt bad because my Pops was home for the weekend and I didn’t get to spend any time with him. I did get to catch up on True Blood, so that was nice…although I’m not too impressed with this season just yet…and I’m pretty sick of them making Tara so damn helpless, but I digress…

I made a final decision about my move to California. And after much thought (and tears of frustration…) I decided that I will be moving in December instead of at the end of next month. There are many reasons why this was the best thing for me to do, but it was a struggle for me to decide because the idea of spending 4 more months in MN and at this job really dampens my spirits. Plus, it was a pride issue because I had already told basically everyone I was leaving (including you guys!), so to say, “nope, I’m leaving later”, just sounds so “unsure”. I realize I don’t have to explain myself to anyone, but what I do want to express is that I have every intention of following my goals out to wherever they may take me…and I know in my heart that Los Angeles is one of those places. I’ve always been the type to do exactly what I say I’m going to do…both good things and not so good things, but this time is the 1st time, I think, where I’m really thinking things out and making the best decision instead of blindly doing whatever feels right. I don’t know…maybe that’s a part of ‘growing up’, but I just don’t want to get into the rut of always following logic…sometimes the best situations come out of following your heart and disregarding everything outside of it…I guess I just need to figure those times out.

Anyways, I should get on with the day and the rest of my posts. The rest of my week looks pretty chill. I think I’ll finish some pants my mom wanted me to make her like 3 months ago. Besides that…its wherever the wind takes me! Enjoy your day! PS. I will have photos from the shoot (along with other recent projects and some NEWS!) sometime this week…stay tuned!

Never stand begging for that which you have the power to earn. -Miguel de Cervantes
About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

