[When Form Meets Function]…Beautiful Japanese Manhole Covers

I was at Barnes & Noble last week and I came across this gorgeous book called Drainspotting by Remo Camerota which has beautiful images of the unique manhole covers that dot the landscape of the municipalities of Japan. I think it’s quite apparent to anyone that follows art or design that Japan places high quality design in most aspects of life, so it’s no wonder that their manhole covers would be just as stunning. The vivid colors of the manholes are created using tree resin, which lasts a lot longer than traditional paint. There are about 6,000 of these on Japanese streets and you can guarantee that when I make it to Japan, I certainly plan on photographing every single one I see!

[via]

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on August 19, 2010, in Design-a-licious and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

