[Abandoned Dreams]…Photography by Brynne Chalmers

I came across this great Flickr stream by Brynne Chalmers of haunting, yet gorgeous photography from an abandoned Six Flags theme park in New Orleans, LA. The park was abandoned and deemed a loss after Hurricane Katrina and the only ride that was salvageable was the Batman: The Ride Rollercoaster….

I think these are amazing. Can you imagine how loaded these photos could be?…The juxtaposition of a place of happiness that is now desolate due to one of the most destructive storms in history is not lost on me with these photos. At the same time, I think this would also be an EXCELLENT location for a horror film or a zombie-esque photoshoot…the wardrobe ideas are already churning in my head. Yet again – another perfect example of beautiful chaos.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on September 14, 2010, in Design-a-licious and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. These are awesome. I would love to shoot a location like this.

  2. That would be an amazing location! Know the plans for it? How long will it be there in its current state?

    • I’m not sure how long it will be there…Six Flags has tried to disown the rights to the park/land, but the City of New Orleans wants them to take ownership of figuring out what to do with the park. So it’s sort of up in the air for now. I hope it’s there long enough for me to get some shots of my own though 🙂

  3. WOW, the rollercoasters look scary.

Leave a Reply

