[NY Fashion Week Hoopla]…Part 1

Since it’s currently the season of fashion weeks, I thought I’d dedicate my “Designer of the Day” series to the current collections of designers that I’m digging. I’ll be posting my favorite looks from their recent runway shows along with a personal review. I figured this would be a good way to stay abreast of all the Fashion Week happenings and be a good way to catalogue trends and such.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 A Detacher

Mona Kowalska of A Detacher seems to have pulled inspiration from the trend of cultural ethnic influences that have become quite apparent in fashion as of late. To me, the looks for this labels S/S 2011 collection invokes a sort of vintage Tibetan feel. I’m loving the use of jewel tones and metallics (which makes me happy that these will carry over into next years warm months) and I also love the loose silhouettes of the pantsuits and belted dresses. These looks remind me of something you’d wear on a chic African safari…which is perfect imagery for the spring & summer! You can read Style’s review here.

Carolina Herrera

Carolina Herrera’s collection was very classy to me. It also had an Asian feel to it which I could see in the Obi like folds of the gowns. I also loved her use of floral motifs and colors. I posted photos of the most stunning looks, but some of her more wearable pieces also kept with that sort of Korean theme – there were tons of sashed/belted looks and wide brimmed hats. Read more here.

Other collections I loved…

Alexander Wang – the pastels and loose draping in his collection is lovely

Barbara Tfank – LOVE the vintage silhouettes and pastel colors…very Michelle O!

Altuzarra – the futuristic overtones and fabric combinations of this collection are really neat…remind me of something that’s be in a great Sci-Fi film.

 Christian Siriano – Why? tons of chiffon and a hella cute leather jacket.

Chris Benz – Why? kitschy vintage inspiration which invokes my love for the 70’s.

 Cushnie et Ochs – More awesome futurism…plus theres leather!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on September 14, 2010, in NY Fashion Week S/S 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

