[Dark Art]…Title Cards of Batman: The Animated Series

Growing up, I was a HUGE fan of the Batman:The Animated Series cartoon that used to come on Cartoon Network. Not only was the series really intense & dark (there was actually a point in which one episode scared me so much that I wasn’t allowed to watch it for a bit after that!), but the animation style (done by Bruce Timm) was insane! The show almost had a film noir style – tons of shadows, bold colors, and vintage style illustration. Since I’m trying to decide if I want to buy the series on DVD, I thought it’d be fun to share some of my favorite title cards from various episodes…

Those don’t even look like they’re from a 1990’s cartoon, do they?! So cool. I also love how each one is a good depiction of the mood of the show. Like that 3rd to last card “Be a Clown”. The image of The Joker leading a kid towards the Ferris Wheel is so deliciously sinister. This was one of the first series to really draw upon the actual dark nature of the Batman world…I think that’s why I enjoyed it so much – it was real and made you think. Anyway, if you wanna see more title cards, check out more here. What are some of your favorites??

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Design-a-licious and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You know…I didn’t really appreciate how gorgeous this cartoon was until now. I wish they still showed it.

Leave a Reply

