A Moment of Your Time, Please :)…

Before we get started on today’s Friday Flash, I wanted to just take a moment to reflect on the past year of sharing all the things that spark my interest here on Sparkleshock. I missed commemorating my 1 year blogoversary (which was sometime around Sept 17th) and I had planned on doing some big celebration blog post, but it just didn’t end up that way due to many reasons (other projects, time, life in general). When I first started this blog, it was over at Blogspot. In fact I think I actually started that one earlier in 2009, but I never really had much drive in posting on it since it I figured nobody was reading it anyway. That was mistake #1 I made when beginning to blog – worrying about readership. After awhile, that blog (which was actually called Complex Supernova and had a grand total of 4 posts) was completely neglected due to my over inflated blogging ego and I decided to just give up on blogging in general.

Towards Fall of 2009, I was back living at home after freshly graduating from college and I was bored out of my mind when the idea about blogging popped back into my head. At this particular time, I had A LOT (too much in fact) of free time, so I spent a lot of time surfing the net which led to me having far too many bookmarks and inspiration folders. Granted, I’d always been a web surfer, but at this particular time, all the cool things I wanted to share was starting to pile up considerably. So it was during that time that I decided to give blogging another chance. I moved over to WordPress (cause it tracked stats – the blogging ego was still sort of in effect) and after going through several names (Sheree Sparkle, ShereeFashion, Wonder World, Hype Planet – ew!) SparkleShock was born. I knew this blog would be different the moment I thought of the name. It just had so much pizaazz and combined two of my favorite words. On top of that, I started to care less about readership and began to have way too much fun posting about a neat artist I found or a funky piece of jewelry I was digging. It became fun to find things and write my views about them.

The funny part about all this is that the moment I decided to stop focusing on blog view stats and just post because I just wanted to share cool things, that was the moment that my readership began to grow steadily and confidently. Today, I truly feel like my blog is an accurate extension of how I view the world and what makes me happy. I think it’s an awesome balance of personality while still not being entirely “all about me” (that’s what Jade Pheenix is for of course! 😉 I’ve also discovered TONS of other amazing blogs and I’ve even interacted with some pretty cool people, some of whom I consider “blogging friends”.

My hope for Sparkleshock is that I continue to have just as much fun and excitement in posting as I do now – even a year after blogging. If you know me personally, then you know that I’m quite artistically scatterbrained – it’s very hard for me to only have one or two projects going on at any given time. Knowing that makes me proud of myself for sticking with this blog as long as I have. As of right now, I have no plans of ending my blog and even though I go through periods of  “blogger PMS”, I know that it’s temporary and the desire to spread awesome art, culture, and design to others will be back in due time. That being said though, I’m always thinking about change, so I do have some ideas in mind that I hope to get started in the next coming months…so please do, stay tuned!

I think the best way to end this is to say THANK YOU to all the people that visit Sparkleshock on a regular basis and THANK YOU to the people that may only visit it occasionally. THANK YOU to the subscribers. THANK YOU for leaving comments and THANK YOU for sharing things with me that you’re digging as well. As long as there’s awesome creativity to share, then SparkleShock will be the one-stop destination for it 🙂

[All artwork via Shan Jiang]

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on October 22, 2010, in SparkleShock Originals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you found your voice, my dear. =D Thank YOU.

Leave a Reply

