Designer of the Day…Sylvia Toth

 

So winter has definitely come to the MN. Snippy gusts of wind are starting to become more prominent and I’ve finally had to break out the scarves and gloves. That is why I’m am IN LOVE with the knitted pieces from Warmi – a knitted goods line by Sylvia Toth. She has a variety of traditional knitted items like scarves and sweaters, but even many of those have a twist – like a sweater with a vibrant rooster knitted on it. She also has adorable knitted headbands and this really unique pair of knitted shorts.

 

Toth has worked under Kenzo and Christian LaCroix, so it’s obvious that she has honed and crafted her skills. She works with Colombian artisans to created the knitted pieces that dominate her collections which is not only economical but it also adds a handcrafted look to the pieces. Warmi is based in France and can be bought in retailers around Europe & Asia and online.

I love that she plays with the idea of using knits in a unique way. It isn’t everyday that you see a pair of knitted shorts. It also isn’t everyday that you see sweatpants and oversized sweaters that actually look presentable for everyday use. I’m really digging Warmi!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m sure by now you’ve noticed that every other day I’ll either post a designer of the day or an artist of the day. From now own, the designer of the day post will be a bit more sporadic. I find it sort of difficult to find & discover new, upcoming, or lesser known designers and those are the types I want to feature as a designer of the day. On top of that, so many fashion sites are made in Flash and I don’t have the time to sneakily crop screenshots of my browser in order to get photos of the designers’ looks. In place of the bi-daily designer of the day posts, I will more likely be posting a designer or collection that I love. Doing it this way still allows me to feature fashion in a steady manner and it is less work on my part. When I do feature a designer of the day, it will be in more of a “spotlight” sort of way. Just one of a few changes coming to Sparkleshock 🙂

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on October 28, 2010, in Designers on My Radar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

