Artist of the Day…Jon Foster

I’ve got a neat artist I’m excited to share today – Jon Foster. His work is a bit of a departure from what I normally feature, but just because it isn’t the usual doesn’t mean I don’t find it amazing. While it’s not the first thing I’m drawn to, I do love art that comes in traditional forms  – realist painting or organic sculpture, for example – so when I come across an artist who does the art form right, I have to rave about it. I’m digging Foster’s work because it is very moody and the colors (while somewhat soft) are still really striking.

Foster is an illustrator that lives and works in Rhode Island. A lot of his work appears to deal with fantasy and somewhat gory themes (which is why I called it moody). In fact, many of this illustrations remind me of scenes that may have been in the God of War video game cause their just so epic. I may not fully dig some of the subject matter of Foster’s work, but I do love the fantasy aspect. Plus the man knows how to use color – those two reason alone make it cool enough for me!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on November 9, 2010, in Artists on My Radar and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

