Artist of the Day…Slinkachu

Hello all! Hope you had a good week last week. Sorry about the quiet that’s been around here for the past 4 days. Withe the holidays (Thanksgiving – yum!) & with me prepping for my move, I had to focus on some other things for a bit. I feel bad about not have a Thanksgiving post (I wanted to post some lovely foodtography) but I’ll try and make up for that this week with some fun things.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve got a great artist to share today…one that combines photography and installation work to create a neat work called “The Little People Project”. Since 2006, Slinkachu (real name not given) is a UK based artist that has been using figures that are usually reserved for model railroading in mini installations in the streets of Barcelona and Manchester.

Slinkachu says that he creates these works to give city dwellers a chance to stop and pay attention to their surroundings all while being aware of a sense of being small in such a large world. Slinkachu also helmed another installation project in 2008 called the Inner City Snail Project which involves decorating the shells of snails. The snails are then released back into the wild to surprise and delight people.

I love both of these installations because they’re fun, whimsical, and hold a nice element of surprise. I love coming across art in strange places or at unexpected times, so I would definitely love to come across one of these projects someday!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Artists on My Radar and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

