[Inspiration of the Day]…Tron (+ A Mini Update!)

Hey everybody! I’m now writing to you not from my work cubicle (as I have been for the past year), but from my new place & space in Los Angeles, CA. My move went relatively smoothly and I’m slowly getting used to driving everywhere, seeing mountains, and having to pay 5 extra cents for a bottle of soda, haha!

I hope your new year has started off well! Mine is starting off quite productively and while last week’s post were all scheduled, I’m now back to writing “live” ones like before. I’m still working out a routine here where I allow time for blogging, so things may be a bit sporadic for a spell. It’s a bit different having time all to myself to spend “doing me” rather than “working for the man”!

Anyway, I’m going to try and bring back my “Inspiration of the Day” feature that I had way back when I started Sparkleshock. Basically I just posted about the ideas, art, colors, seasons, etc that have help my mindspace as of late. I really enjoyed doing those posts and since I’m surrounded by creative energy here in LA, I’d like to get back to them. Today’s feature is all about Tron. I realize I’m sort of late in seeing the film, but with things so hectic, I hadn’t gotten a chance to see the movie until now. In short, it was

AMAZING.

The costumes were breathtaking. Michael Wilkinson designed them and they are STUNNING. This is the same guy who did the costumes for Watchmen (of which I also loved), so I expected nothing short of great. I loved the entire feel of the film. The color use was spectacular. How they decided to use warm colors for the antagonists (CLU & his henchman) was quite clever. Cool colors were used for the protagonists which was also neat because anytime they were on the screen, a sense of calm cut the tension that the action scenes created.

After seeing this film, I think I want to be something Tron like for Halloween this year. I’d only have to figure out how to get the light up elements…

The soundtrack was also amazing. Daft Punk KILLED it (as they always do)….but they were the PERFECT choice to score this film because they’re so otherwordly themselves…

My favorite tracks off the OST are Solar Sailer & End of Line…

Seriously, this soundtrack has been on repeat all weekend.

Here’s some more Tron or Tron inspired stuff that has got me in a designgasm…

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

[Via]

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. I heard Daft Punk held a rave on set one night because shooting couldn’t occur…I would have LOVED to costume this!!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Inspiration of the Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like the shoes. They remind me of hooker heels.

Leave a Reply

