Artist of the Day…Roselina Hung

I’ve got a really unique visual artist to share with you guys today. I’m captivated by the bold colors of the work of Roselina Hung, a Vancouver based artist that combines somewhat fanciful subject matter with gorgeous prints & patterns.

Hung’s medium is oil based painting (which explains why the colors in her work pops). Her artist’s statement says that she uses her work to evoke common memories and personal experiences. For example, she has an artwork series’ named “Of Myth & Men” which combines a male figure with the head of various animals. For me, I immediately thought about Greek mythology (probably not that deep, but it is what it is!).

There’s also a series of self portraits in Hung’s body of work. Those are my favorites because they are of real people and remind me of people that I know or could know. Her style is almost photorealism…which I love!

Great work…it’s no wonder that Hung has shown in exhibits around the world!

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on January 13, 2011, in Artists on My Radar and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

