Trio…SparkleShock’s Picks for Best Dressed at The 83rd Annual Academy Awards

Last night marked the evening of the 83rd Oscars award ceremony and as usual, the celebs came out in droves to help celebrate professional accomplishments in the world of film…

Sidenote #1 – I really only enjoy watching the Oscars for the following categories: Best Art Direction, Best Original Score, Best Costume Design, Best Makeup, & Best Visual Effects. In my personal opinion, I feel that those categories are the ones that showcase the meat of a film…without the visuals, there really is no cinematic masterpiece. Click here to see the winners & nominees in those categories (hint: my Costume Design inspiration, Colleen Atwood won her 3rd Oscar!)

Sidenote #2 – Last night, a tweet from someone I follow stated (in short) that instead of idolizing/celebrating the celebrities at the Oscars, we should be celebrating ourselves. This tweet rubbed me the wrong way because I felt that this person was saying that The Oscars is all about celeb worship. I do not agree with this. I think that The Oscars are one of the few awards that reward excellence in professional accomplishments – a profession that just so happens to include many who are famous. While I wholeheartedly agree that our culture does have an obsession with celebrity, I do think that credit should be given when there is a true and actual talent in the realm of entertainment. Celeb Worship isn’t okay in any way in my opinion, but it really feel that it’s wrongness is more warranted when a celebrity is acclaimed despite the fact that they really have no outstanding talent or are just famous for being famous (see: Kim Kardashian or Paris Hilton).

Okay, now that I’m off my soapbox, haha, I must say that wasn’t really impressed with too many of the gowns from last night. I feel that while one should be elegant at the Oscars, it is also more than likely the highlight of one’s film career, so there should be more fashion experimentation. If, when, I go to the Oscars, you can best believe that I will be in something extremely elegant, but not in something you can find standard at any prom or black tie event.

Anyway, here’s my picks for the 3 dresses I thought were the most gorgeous…

 

Camilla Alves in Kaufman Franco

Jennifer Hudson in Versace

Halle Berry in Marchesa

I like each one of these ladies dresses for many reasons. Camilla’s is very commanding in my opinion. I love the huge bell skirt and the plunging neckline and empire waist are very sexy, yet elegant. Halle’s dress has sort of the drama that I was talking about…and while I think some of that tulle at the bottom is haphazard, I think overall the dress & beading is stunning. Jennifer brought the perfect amount of color (and I’m not just talking about the dress…but that’s another post for another day) to the awards with this gorgeous iridescent orange. I love that it fit her perfectly and it was very pretty.

Overall, I think the Oscar dresses were a bit too safe and drab. I think there should have been more color (like The Golden Globes), but who am I but a lowly freelance designer to suggest that, haha. Tell you one thing, let me design dresses for Hollywood’s elite – they will certainly make the night more memorable! Head here if you’d like to see more looks from last night.

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on February 28, 2011, in Trio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

