[NY Fashion Week Hoopla]…Part 3

NYFW has come to an end and overall, I have to say that I’m quite impressed overall with what the world of fashion wants to offer us for next Spring & Summer. I noticed there was the continuation of bold prints and Ethnic inspired silhouettes. Along with that I noticed that jewel tones seem to be quite prevalent and of course your standard summer whites. I can’t pinpoint an exact decade that fashion decided to take from for these shows. I saw silhouettes from the 60’s (Barbara Tfank) all the way up to the 80’s (Jeremy Scott). You know, now that I think about it…the collections at NYFW seemed quite safe…a lot of good ones, but safe nonetheless. Here’s a final look at some of my favorites along with some honorable mentions…

Oscar De la Renta

House of Holland

Staerk

VPL

Z Spoke by Zac Posen

Badgley Mischka

Proenza Schouler – loved the colors and sort of 80’s inspired business wear looks

Michael Kors – overall, I think Kors is boring, so I really only liked that he used Kelly Green in his looks

United Bamboo – nice collection of silky tops and dresses. I also loved the uses of bold pastels.

Bensoni – LOVED the wide-leg trousers that dominated this collection

Chado Ralph Rucci – of course there are some great sculptural looks in this collection…Rucci is good for that!

Issac Mizrahi – Great prints. I also like the sort of resort feel the collection had.

Imitation – lots of ethereal and goddess type looks

L’Wren Scott – great velvet jackets and evening attire

Tory Burch – bold oranges and a nice “Mumbai” feel

About missheree

Greetings! I am Sheree, a fashion and costume designer from Miami, FL and Minneapolis, MN respectively. While fabric is my personal medium of choice, I find inspiration is all areas of art and this blog is a representation of that. From fashion to illustration to graphic design to architecture, Sparkleshock is here to do just that - add sparkle to your mind and shock your senses.

Posted on September 20, 2010, in NY Fashion Week S/S 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment